Sharing Files in GenomeSpace

GenomeSpace makes it easy for you to share files or folders with your collaborators and co-workers, or even the public.

To share a file or folder, select it in GenomeSpace and select File>Sharing in the menu bar (or right-click the file/folder and select Sharing from the pop-up menu).  This opens up the Sharing & Permissions dialog that lets you see the other users or user groups you have already shared the file with.  You can then click the Edit Sharing button to change who you are sharing with.

Where Shared Files Show Up

Files that have been shared to you directly or to a group you are a member of will appear automatically in your Shared to [User Name] directory, in a folder with the GenomeSpace username of the person who shared them to you.  If you don't see a file that you think should have access to, refresh that directory by selecting View>Refresh Current Directory in the menu bar or by clicking on another directory and then back.

Files shared to the public will show up in the Public folder, also named according to the name of the user who shared them. Publicly shared files are also available for download by any non-GenomeSpace user.  You can right-click on the file and select View file link in the pop-up menu to get a link that can be copied and sent to anyone (even non-GenomeSpace users).

Granting Permissions

To share a file or folder with another user:

  1. Select the file/folder and select File>Sharing in the menu bar.
  2. Click Edit Sharing.
  3. Enter the user's GenomeSpace username in the Share with User section of the Edit Sharing & Permissions dialog.  You'll need to ask them for their username as GenomeSpace does not share username information between users at this time. 
  4. Choose between sharing the file read only (Read), or with full permissions (Read, Write & Delete). If you give full permissions those people can also change or replace your file.

To share the file with a group of users, you can select  a group from the drop-down menu in the Share with Group section of the Edit Sharing & Permissions dialog. Then select the level of permissions you would like to grant.  To create or manage groups, click on the blue tool icon next to the drop-down menu.

To share with the public at large, select the Allow public access checkbox on the right and select the permissions you want to grant.

Once you have added a user, a group, the public, or any combination of the three, click the Grant Permissions button and the files will become available as you have specified.

Removing Permissions

From within the edit sharing dialog box, click on the red next to the permission you wish to remove.  The permission will be removed immediately.  If you remove the read permission from a file, it will also remove the write and delete permission (since it makes no sense to let them write to a file they cannot see).

Folders and Inherited Permissions

If you grant permissions to a folder, all the files in that folder and its subfolders will inherit those permissions. So if you were to make your home directory writable by a colleague, then that person would be able to fully access any of your files (for better or worse). 

For inherited permissions, they will show up in the dialog without the red to remove the permission.  If you want to eliminate this permission, you'll need to do it from the folder you originally applied it to.